About us

About us

At the Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies, we seek to explore the complex problems of drugs through multidisciplinary research and training, with a focus on the neuroscience of addictions and related neurobehavioral disorders.

The institute is led by F. Gerard Moeller, M.D., a preeminent researcher with a focus on brain imaging in addiction medicine. Moeller’s addiction research has been funded since 1996 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. His work is published in more than 110 peer-reviewed publications.

Moeller is also director of the Virginia Commonwealth University Center for Clinical and Translational Research and the university’s associate vice president for clinical research.

Faculty

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.
Director, Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies
(804) 828-4134
fgmoeller@vcu.edu

James M. Bjork, Ph.D.
Assistant professor, departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology and Toxicology
(804) 828-3935
james.bjork@vcuhealth.org

Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D.
Assistant professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-4164
lakeyser@vcu.edu

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D.
Assistant professor, Department of Radiology
(804) 828-2871
lma@vcu.edu

Joel L. Steinberg, M.D.
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(713) 249-7472
jlsteinberg@vcu.edu

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.
Associate professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-5807
jlvassileva@vcu.edu

Staff

Michele A. Armstrong
Administrator/business manager
(804) 828-4155
maarmstr@vcu.edu

Maria Shulleeta
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 828-5808
mshulleeta@vcu.edu

Robert E. Cadrain
MRI technologist
(804) 828-3639
recadrain@vcu.edu

Research assistants

Ervina Baskerville-Allen
Abigail Cadua
Ciara Flythe
Katie Freeman
Lisa Straub
Edward Zuniga

Post-doctoral fellow

Sade Johns, Ph.D.