About us

About us

At the Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies, we seek to explore the complex problems of drugs through multidisciplinary research and training, with a focus on the neuroscience of addictions and related neurobehavioral disorders.

The institute is led by F. Gerard Moeller, M.D., a preeminent researcher with a focus on brain imaging in addiction medicine. Moeller’s addiction research has been funded since 1996 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. His work is published in more than 110 peer-reviewed publications.

Moeller is also director of the Virginia Commonwealth University Center for Clinical and Translational Research and the university’s associate vice president for clinical research.

Faculty

 

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.

Director, Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies
Director, Wright Center for Clinical and Translational Research
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neurology
Associate Vice President for Clinical Research
(804) 828-4134
frederick.moeller@vcuhealth.org
MyNCBI Publications 

 

James M. Bjork, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology and Toxicology
(804) 828-3935
james.bjork@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-0593-3291 
 

John “Jack” Hettema, M.D. Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-8592
john.hettema@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0002-0105-9034 
 

Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D.

Assistant professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-4164
lori.keysermarcus@vcuhealth.org
ORCID:  0000-0001-6014-2500 

 

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D.

Assistant professor, Department of Radiology
(804) 828-2871
liangsuo.ma@vcuhealth.org 
 

Joel L. Steinberg, M.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(713) 249-7472
joel.steinberg@vcuhealth.org 

 

Mishka Terplan, M.D.

Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
(804) 828-8792
mishka.terplan@vcuhealth.org
ORCID:  0000-002-2489-2942 
 

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-5807
jasmin.vassileva@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-2397-2657

 

 Administration

 

Elizabeth Fortune, MBA, CRA

Administrative Director
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 827-1936
efortune@vcu.edu 

 

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T. (MR), CNMT

MRI Manager/Chief Technologist/Safety Officer
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3639
recadrain@vcu.edu 

 

Mary Simmons

Grant/Fiscal Manager
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 628-2961
mfsimmons@vcu.edu 

 

Richard Johnson

Fiscal Technician
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-4155 

 

Vacant

Program Support Specialist
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3793

 

 Research Staff

 

Elizabeth Abston

ecabston@vcu.edu 

 

Ervina Baskerville-Allen, ICDAC

earobins@vcu.edu 

 

Mary Bowman, FNP

mbowman2@vcu.edu 

 

Rebecca Cespedes

rcespedes@vcu.edu

 

Demetrea Flowers

dlflowers@vcu.edu

 

Jessica Jones

Jljones5@vcu.edu

 

Ivan Kane

kaneib@vcu.edu

 

DeMeara Payne

dpayne4@vcu.edu 

 

Maggie Smith

mesmith3@vcu.edu

 

Lisa Straub

lkstraub@vcu.edu

 

Rose Williams

williamsrm4@vcu.edu

 

Richard Wilson

wilsonrd2@vcu.edu

 

Edward Zuniga

eazuniga@vcu.edu

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows/Trainees

 

Sade Johns, Ph.D.

sejohns@vcu.edu