About us

About us

At the Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies, we seek to explore the complex problems of drugs through multidisciplinary research and training, with a focus on the neuroscience of addictions and related neurobehavioral disorders.

The institute is led by F. Gerard Moeller, M.D., a preeminent researcher with a focus on brain imaging in addiction medicine. Moeller’s addiction research has been funded since 1996 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. His work is published in more than 110 peer-reviewed publications.

Moeller is also director of the Virginia Commonwealth University Center for Clinical and Translational Research and the university’s associate vice president for clinical research.

Faculty

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.

Director, Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies
Director, Wright Center for Clinical and Translational Research
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neurology
Associate Vice President for Clinical Research
(804) 828-4134
frederick.moeller@vcuhealth.org
MyNCBI Publications

James M. Bjork, Ph.D.

James M. Bjork, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology and Toxicology
(804) 828-3935
james.bjork@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-0593-3291
John “Jack” Hettema, M.D. Ph.D.

John “Jack” Hettema, M.D. Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-8592
john.hettema@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0002-0105-9034
Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D.

Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D.

Assistant professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-4164
lori.keysermarcus@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0001-6014-2500

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D.

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D.

Assistant professor, Department of Radiology
(804) 828-2871
liangsuo.ma@vcuhealth.org
Joel L. Steinberg, M.D.

Joel L. Steinberg, M.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(713) 249-7472
joel.steinberg@vcuhealth.org

Mishka Terplan, M.D.

Mishka Terplan, M.D.

Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
(804) 828-8792
mishka.terplan@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-002-2489-2942
Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-5807
jasmin.vassileva@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-2397-2657

 

Administration

Elizabeth Fortune, MBA, CRA

Elizabeth Fortune, MBA, CRA

Administrative Director
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 827-1936
efortune@vcu.edu

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T. (MR), CNMT

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T. (MR), CNMT

MRI Manager/Chief Technologist/Safety Officer
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3639
recadrain@vcu.edu

Blank

Mary Simmons

Grant/Fiscal Manager
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 628-2961
mfsimmons@vcu.edu

Blank

Richard Johnson

Fiscal Technician
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-4155

Blank

Vacant

Program Support Specialist
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3793

 

Research Staff

Blank

Alia Bey
ab@vcu.edu

Blank

Elizabeth Abston

ecabston@vcu.edu

Blank

Ervina Baskerville-Allen, ICDAC

earobins@vcu.edu

Blank

Mary Bowman, FNP

mbowman2@vcu.edu

Blank

Rebecca Cespedes

rcespedes@vcu.edu

Blank

Demetrea Flowers

dlflowers@vcu.edu

Blank

Jessica Jones

Jljones5@vcu.edu

Blank

Ivan Kane

kaneib@vcu.edu

Blank

DeMeara Payne

dpayne4@vcu.edu

Blank

Fola Shokunbi
axshokunbi@vcu.edu

Blank

Maggie Smith

mesmith3@vcu.edu

Blank

Lisa Straub

lkstraub@vcu.edu

Blank

Sravya Uppalapati
uppalapatis@vcu.edu

Blank

Rose Williams

williamsrm4@vcu.edu

Blank

Richard Wilson

wilsonrd2@vcu.edu

Blank

Edward Zuniga

eazuniga@vcu.edu

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows/Trainees

Blank

Sade Johns, Ph.D.

sejohns@vcu.edu